Highlights of Season 2018-19

East District

Stories and results from earlier in the year will appear here after they are retired from the main news page. Reverse chronological order.

Individual event

Congratulations to Troy van de l&Isle, winner of the Faie Rosebowl on Sunday 15 September 2019.

Edward Clutton was runner up.

Cameron Farquaharson

We regret to announce that Cameron Farquharson died peacefully on Saturday morning, 14 December.

Cameron was a very successful bar manager, running Clark’s Bar in Edinburgh for several years. One evening he dropped into another establishment, Bennett’s Bar, to find that the owner was thinking of selling up, but reluctant to sell the family business to a chain. Cameron purchased the Bar on the spot, and ran it very successfully till it became time to retire. His last venture was the Roseburn Bar in Murrayfield.

Cameron loved bridge, though he would freely admit that he was not the best player in the club. He became involved in administration in the East District and was very proud to be made President of the SBU in 1989. He was an enthusiastic administrator and an exemplary host, with a lethal pouring hand, though he never drank himself. He oversaw the introduction of the voluntary Individual Membership Scheme. The membership fee included a subscription to the newly established Scottish Bridge News and the chance to play in the Farqhuarson Trophy. He donated a case of wine for prizes for the event that bears his name till illness made him forgetful. He has been unwell for several years.

Cameron lived in Bathgate for most of his life, and was a member of Bathgate Bridge Club. Our thoughts are with his wife Thelma and their family.

Jesner won by David & Wendy Chambers

Sunday 24th October 2019, Carlton.

Congratulations to David and Wendy Chambers, who have finished top of the list for the Jesner Pairs event after all heats have been included. Scores from the heat are on the bronze page.

Winners - David and Wendy Chambers

ED Swiss Pairs

Sunday 17th October 2019, Carlton.


The Swiss Pairs event was won by Anne Young and David Houston.

Runners up were Irene Sime and Bronwyn McWhiney.

Third were Hazel Brown and Clare Douglas.

East District Congress Teams - Watson Trophy

Watson Results

Winners were Bob McPaul, Sandy Duncan, Jim Hay and Derrick Peden

Runnersup were Harry Smith, Brian Short, Alan Goodman and Roy Bennett

Third were Fiona Greenwood, Julia Palmer, Liz McGowan and David Liggat

Silver prize won by Jane Stephenson, Dilys Gellatly, Bronwyn McWhinney and Jean Newport

East District Congress Swiss Pairs - Chalmers Cup

Chalmers Results

Winners were Douglas Piper and Miro Dragic

Runnersup were Fiona Greenwood and Julia Palmer

Joint Third were Diana Drysdale and Joan Forsyth, with Helen Wood and Earl McGregor

Silver prize was won by Liam O&Brien and Jake Milne

East District Congress Mixed Pairs - McGregor Cup

McGregor Results

Winners were Veronica Guy and Peter Moss

Runnersup were Fiona Greenwood and Troy van de l&Isle

Silver winners were Margaret McCallum and David Ripley

Atholl Cup

Atholl Cup draw available, see link

NEBA Match success

The East won both matches this year: a 76 imp margin for the A Team and 35 for the B Team.

Learning At Work

Miro Dragic is running bridge lessons in his office at Avaloq (a Swiss fintech company based in Tanfield), he had 20 people turning up on day 1, mainly in their 20s and 30s. Played mini bridge on 5 tables!!

National Events 2019/20



Other Years

2018-2019 | 2017-2018 | 2016-2017 | 2015-2016 | 2014-2015 | 2013-2014 | 2012-2013 | 2011-2012 | 2010-2011 | 2009-2010 | 2008-2009 | 2007-2008 | 2006-2007 | 2005-2006

ED Prize Winners 2018-19

Pairs Events

Teams of Four

Teams of Eight

Individual Events

Bronze Events

Representative Matches

NEBA v East District

East District (both events)